half training

So I’ve been training for a half marathon for no particular reason other than I have the time.  So here’s an update.

I’m using Hal Higdon’s Novice 1 training program and modifying it to run on M, W, & F.  It’s been going pretty good.  I’ve stuck to it, even with the kids home on break.  I’m through week three and I’ve been able to run outside for half the runs.  for the most part, I’ve been able to keep a 2/1 run/walk ratio.

Week 1:  12/9: 3 miles, outside, 36:28; 12/11: 3 mile, TM, 45 minutes; 12/13: 4 miles, outside, 49:03.

During my run Wednesday, I thought that was the longest three miles ever and looking at my time for 4 on Friday, kind of confirmed that it was not right.  I don’t run a 45 minute 5K, unless I’m with my daughter.  I looked at apps and found the Nike+ app, which can also be used on the treadmill.  I used it on my first TM run W2D1 and again on an outside run W2D2. It kind of confirmed it’s not calibrated correctly any more.  And it’s nice to have when I accidentally reset my treadmill.  I’ve done that a few times.  :/

Week 2:  12/16: 3 miles, TM, 37; 12/18:  3 miles, outside, 35:28; 12/20: 4 miles, TM, 51:26

Week 3: 12/23: 3.5 miles, TM, 45:04; 12/26: TM, 1.75 miles; 12/28: 5 miles, outside, 59:52

Week three was a hard week.  The kids were home from school, Christmas was Wednesday.  I was suppose to run 3.5 Christmas day, but didn’t, so I planned on a shorter run Thursday because of the long run Friday.  I planned on running 2.5, but I just wasn’t feeling the run, so I stopped at 1.75.  I ended up doing my long run Saturday and it was beautiful outside.  Hubs took the kids out around 10 and I went for my run.  I’m so glad I waited to do the run on Saturday.  It felt really good and I did manage the 2/1 ratio the entire 5 miles.  I ran with Garmin and Nike+ on Treadmill mode.

Week 4 will have to wait a week.  I’ve been sick.  No fun for running.

Have a safe and happy 2014, all!

This entry was posted in half training, running and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to half training

  1. sarahdudek80 says:

    Great job. Keep it up!

  2. playfulpups says:

    Great work! I absolutely love your first sentence: “So I’ve been training for a half marathon for no particular reason other than I have the time.” Made me chuckle. 🙂 Happy & safe 2014 to you as well!

Leave a Reply

