Weeks in review!

I guess it’s been a while since I’ve updated.  I really haven’t been able to get out and do much.  Little Man is home on Winter break and it’s really kind of pricey to take him to the kids room at the gym.

December 22nd: My Mom came in town for the day of a day with the boy.  I took advantage of it and went to the gym.

As far as treadmill runs go?  It was pretty good.  I only had to slow down to drink some water once.  I had no user errors.  I was rocking my new shirt and rocking out to my i-pod.

In the last 10 minutes, I increased my speed by 0.1 mph each minute.  I normally run right around 5 or 5.2 mph.  I peeked at 5.5 mph for 3 minutes or so.  It may not seem like much, but it was good.  I plan to keep doing this in the future, hopefully I’ll be able to start at 5.5 and work my way up faster.  🙂  I keep the incline set at 1 to help ease the knees.

I managed to walk another 1/4 mile in the 5 minute cool down period.

December 28th: No “real” workout today, but I did shovel snow plow poop from the end of the driveway….

December 29th: ‘Twas a Wii Fit morning.  I did Free Step for 20 minutes, no sound so I could go my own pace and I had the Wii remote volume on so I could watch the morning news.  I also had my step platform under the balance board.  Total steps:  2024!

I did Advanced Step twice.  One with the platform underneath and the second time without it.  My score with it was 530 & my score without it was 565.

December 30th: My calves are SORE from my step workout.  I guess I ought to remember to stretch more.  I think it was from stepping back up to the platform.  Walking down the steps is difficult.  Not sure how this is going to effect my treadmill run on the 31st.  We’ll see.  Hopefully it’ll loosen it up.

December 31st: My last run of the year.  Yippee!!  Hubby came home from work early, so I went to the gym for a dreadmill run.  I’m starting to get more comfortable on it.  YAY!!  I did start at 5.2 mph and shortly after a mile, I did slow down for a drink of water, then kicked it back up.  After the 15 minute mark, I decided to push myself a little, increasing the speed by 0.1 of a mile every 30 or 60 seconds.  It worked rather well!  I topped out at 6 mph for several minutes, then I had to slow down for one final drink.  With 6 minutes or so left, I finished off at 5.5. YAY ME!!!

I finished with 2.5 miles at the 29 minute mark, I didn’t have my cell phone with me to use notes, so I had to remember it.  All in all, I ran 2.61 miles in 30 minutes with another 0.25 miles walked in the 5 minute cooldown.  My calves didn’t really bother me, I think it helped them.

This entry was posted in Cardio, running, treadmill, Wii Fit and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

